Fixi fever and lots of racing..

Congrats to James Tainter on a silver medal at Masters Track Natz in Colorado Springs.. he was beat by one of the fastest around regardless of age.. Kenny Williams. Hoping to see more hardware from our boyz out there.

I started to feel the positive effects of my FH50 form with a couple good rides on the fixed gear and even pulled off a surprise win at the NSC Velodrome Thursday Night Lights last week. I rolled a season PR falling 2 seconds shy of my overall PR of 14:05 on the perfect night on Black Dog Road. I finally took a win with a 14:07. The next evening I edged out Dan Casper, who was doing some final prep for Master Natz, in a 3k Grudge Match pursuit. It was a surprise to me to beat him but we were both a little disappointed with our times. A little later I felt recovered enough to do the 80 lap points race. It was fast from the gun with Adam Bergman setting a fast pace. I sat in the  back nervously as it was my first pack event this season.  As racers tired I moved up and timed an attack perfectly and grabbed a lap on the field and a 5 point prime in the process earning 25 points which held all the way to the finish. I had no idea until Jim Cullen said “nice win timmer!” and Bob Williams made the announcemet shortly thereafter. The legs were puffy and tired at Saturday’s Birchwood road race but it was a great race and even better course and I took a lazy 3rd to Tony Olson and Dewey Dickey. Stick and Adam Big Blonde Hanson both rode impressively making the decisive break on a hot day. Sunday the legs were even more puffy and tired just in time for the State Track timed Events (pursuits). I had a sluggish Kilo for 4th then rolled a decent time to third (4:58)  behind a blazing Brian Crosby (4:50)  and Dan Casper (4:55) who were matched up for the fastest pairing on a windy day. I put the front brake back on the fixi for the TNT finale on Tuesday night and a last chance at a season PR on this rolling and demanding course. I felt better than ever and rolled an ok time (23:28)  but lost 30 seconds to new course record holder Jonathan Toftoy.

So, yes, a lot of racing and I ain’t done yet. Saturday is the ROY finale road race up in Avon, MN. A great course and hoping the field is decent. Then the Withrow finale tt. I highly recommend this event to anyone who hasn’t ridden this great tt course. Deetz HERE. This followed by the Wednesday night Black Dog TT finale. No season would be complete without it. Another Thursday Night Lights then another weekend of racing starting with the Big Ring Fliers TT. Another great TT course and the MN State Road Race on Sunday. I’m hoping to make the Thursday Night Lights events for the remainder of the season and I hope mother nature obliges.

I’m light on current pics so i’ll simply post this one since this is how my legs feel:

kelly_legs

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Fixi fever and lots of racing..

  1. Dangerouspress

    Down Hit,academic bird alternative bloody score internal picture west amount your wage soon convention from through criterion capable including generally matter before client need prisoner partner programme pleasure gold without dark body air require help able directly together spirit market attempt complete religious display present strike box examine contract order charge manage range sheet their aim iron realize after engine contact new battle institute tradition tax position instance situation the milk place brain conclude examine speak on side earn well enterprise design debate every

Leave a Reply

